Award Tour.


A Tribe Called Quest – Award Tour (ft. De La Soul) (1993)

Extremely sad to hear that Phife Dawg has died at just 45 years old, having battled diabetes for most of his adult life. He’d been planning to release a second solo album later this year.

Back in ’89 I simply slid into place.

Buddy, buddy, buddy all up in your face.

A lot of kids was bustin’ rhymes but they had no taste,

Some said Quest was wack, but now is that the case?

I have a quest to have a mic in my hand,

Without that, it’s like Kryptonite and Superman,

So Shaheed come in with the sugar cuts.

Phife Dawg’s my name, but on stage, call me Dynomutt,

When was the last time you heard the Phife sloppy?

Lyrics anonymous, you’ll never hear me copy.

Top notch baby, never coming less,

Sky’s the limit, you gots to believe up in Quest.

Sit back, relax, get up out the path.

If not that, here’s a dancefloor, come move that ass.

Non-believers, you can check the stats,

I roll with Shaheed and the brother Abstract.

Niggas know the time when Quest is in the jam,

I never let a statue tell me how nice I am.

Comin’ with more hits than the Braves and the Yankees,

Living mad phat like an oversized Bambi.

The wackest crews try to diss, it makes me laugh,

When my track record’s longer than a DC-20 aircraft.

So, next time that you think you want somethin’ here,

Make something def or take that garbage to St. Elsewhere.

One thought on “Award Tour.

Leave a Reply

